Skip to content

A look back and a plan ahead

June 20, 2012

Around the first of the month, it was revealed that In Mala Fide was set to be taken down. While I don’t question the circumstances of such an event, I have been forced to realize something as a result of it. You see, other than a couple of other blogs or so, I don’t have much of a presence in what is referred to as the Manosphere. Most of the hits I’ve gotten so far came from my posts being featured on IMF’s “Linkage Is Good For You” weekly posts. I also haven’t commented much at other people’s blogs.  Therefore, unless I want to fade out of sight, something has to change over here and soon.

The changes I have in mind would most likely affect a few areas:

  • Interface: While I do like the idea of a quick-loading page with a minimalist appearance, a few modifications might be helpful. Not really that high of a priority until I know enough of what to do in order to do it well.
  • Blogroll: Could use an expansion, and I might add a few sites or at least influential posts from other blogs. Once some decisions have been made, a more current blogroll will be up.
  • Post topics: Priority number one. Yeah, there’s a lot about the world that sucks, but there’s also a lot about the world that doesn’t suck. What’s the point of being fed up with the depressing outlook on the rest of the internet if I don’t do more to counter it?
  • About the author: Priority number two. As a result of pondering things like the privacy policies of Google/Facebook and one’s online identity in general, I’ve been more reluctant than usual to say much of anything about my own interests. Eventually I’m going to have to overcome the ridiculous ideas that someone will find out who I am offline and that whatever drama results from that would be my fault.
  • Post frequency: Once a week (or two) shouldn’t really be a high mark for me unless there’s a satisfying job and corresponding wages involved in addition to a excessive social life. If the inspiration comes, there will be near-daily posts/linkage, but it’s not likely before then.

As for a replacement to weekly linkages, replacements have popped up at The Second Estate and Society of Amateur Gentlemen, though whether my future posts get featured on either depends on the tastes of whoever runs either blog.  At any rate, several steps will have to be taken if this blog is to be personally worth keeping, and the first few changes are already in progress.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2012 4:04 pm

    Good luck with your game plan.
    just to add:
    you may also put RSS updates to other usefull sites in the sidebar from the widgets area; that way your sidebar becomes a mini aggregator thus keeping your readers becasue they can find updates of articles only from your site
    “Laus Deo”

  2. June 28, 2012 4:24 pm

    Is the reason you don’t want people to know who you are because you are worried about crazy people, or because you wouldn’t want people that you know to know you think the things you say? Just wondering. I see a lot of guys who don’t want people knowing who they are.

    • yooknohoo permalink*
      July 1, 2012 10:45 am

      It’s a little bit of both, though probably not worth worrying about much right now.

Trackbacks

  1. Linkage Is Good For You.6-24-12 | Society of Amateur Gentlemen

Leave a Reply

